What is Itemized Rating Scale?

In this article, you will learn about Itemized Rating Scale.

As the name suggests, this rating scale has a brief description or number associated with each category, which is arranged in order of scale position. People are asked to choose the category that most accurately reflects what they are rating.

Listed below are some of the most commonly observed itemized rating scales:

Likert Scale:

If the respondent is asked to rate their level of agreement or disagreement with each statement related to the stimulus object under investigation, they will use a Likert Scale, which has five response categories ranging from “strongly disagree” to “strongly agree.”

Semantic Differential Scale:

On the semantic differential scale, there are seven points, with the extreme points indicating the semantic significance of the scale. Specifically, the scale is used to determine whether words have meaning or semantics, particularly bipolar adjectives (such as “bad” or “good,” “warm” or “cold,” etc.), in order to determine the respondent’s attitude toward the stimulus object.

Stapel Scale:

In the Stapel scale, there are only ten categories, each of which rates an adjective from -5 to +5. There are no zero points on the scale. A vertical scale in which the single adjective is placed in the middle of the even-numbered range (-5 to +5) is the most common type of scale used for this task. In order to determine how accurately or incorrectly each term describes the stimulus object, the respondent must select the most appropriate response category from a list.

Related Posts